Purpose Project Blog Post #6

This week I did not accomplish anything in regards to my project. I had wanted to use the software on my 3D printer to model how I would go about connecting the parts and finding the correct dimensions for the different parts of the cane.

Image result for CADlogo

Although I had originally planned to do this with an engineering notebook and paper, I decided that it would be less legible and might interfere with my ability to accurately model the cane. Do to this I am no longer going to use a paper version, but rather keep it all electronic.  Currently I am thinking that the most effective way to connect the three different parts of the cane would be to thread the parts and screw them together. This is because it is the least likely to give out and is able to come apart if needed.

example of threaded locking

Another idea I have for the connecting is to make small holes in the parts that can overlap, allowing me to screw them together with a nut and bolt.While all of this is subject to change and I will try my best to improve on it, I believe that this is what I will use.

https://www.fictiv.com/hwg/design/threaded-locking-methods-for-secure-connections

Leave a comment