Purpose Project Blog Post #5

During this week I got done my sketches for the cane. I wrote a list of materials that I would need to build it and I wrote out how I thought I could combine the different parts of the cane (the handle, shaft, and bottom). Currently I am thinking about threading it so it screws together but I would have to find a way to do this with the materials and tools I have access to. Am idea I had was to 3D print a connector but then I would have the issue of the connector potentially coming off or breaking, making the purpose of the cane backfire and potentially hurt my grandmother.

Image result for threaded connector

Next week I am planning to find a way to connect the three parts of the cane and potentially see if I can 3D print the connector I will use to do so. I will also use the chart I got and ask my grandmother what her height is to determine what the proper height of the cane should be. I will also need to determine the ratio for how large the handle, bottom and shaft should be to each other.

Leave a comment